Inside the Mission

Inside the Mission II

 This photo was taken more than a year ago inside the Cortijo del Fraile, a two century old Andalusian farm in the South of Spain that was used as San Antonio mission in The Good, the Bad and the Ugly (AKA EL Bueno, El Feo y El Malo), one of my favorite movies and ofcourse title of this blog!
It was also the setting for Federico Garcia Lorca´s famous novel Blood Wedding/Boda Sangre.
Unfortunately since the end of last year they closed it because of its vastly deteriorating state.
Read more about its history and state here.

(1/15, F5.6, ISO200, 18mm)

25 thoughts on “Inside the Mission

    • Thanks again, Meg, so fortunate when i was there I could go in (although a little sign never kept me out anywhere :)but now it seems to be totally shut down!
      Warm greetings, Ron.

  1. Fascinating place. Your talent has done it great justice. You know, I’ve seen you around a lot, and have always respected your work. I don’t know why I’m just getting around to following. I am rather choosy about who I follow, but you exceed the qualifications 🙂

    By the way, thank you very much for your support of my blog. I’m always glad to see you there.

    • Thank you, Dinkerson! Not a big follower as well, just surfing from phlog to phlog mostly, but nice to hear you enjoy my work, same goes for yours; nice to hear my photos are adequate enough for you to follow😉

      Greetings and see you around here or there, Ron.

  2. Pingback: The Mission | El Bueno, El Feo y El Malo

    • Yeah, both of em are great there and don´t forget the food; will be going there for third time next month, already looking forward to that!
      Yes, this shot was in available light; for a photographer its a pre that most of the roofs of these old buildings came down first🙂
      Had to keep it steady at 1/15s, probably used something to lean on to keep it sharp…
      well, all the ebst and thanks for stopping by, greetz, Ron.

  3. Amazing image! Fantastic colors – this must be a nice building to visit – and photograph.
    Interesting that Sergio Leone filmed his movie there – and I did not know, that the name of your blog was the “The good, The bad and The ugly”!!!! (I do not understand Spanish … )

    • Thank you, Truels, very interesting place, visited a couple of locations where his famous dollar-trilogy was shot. Yep the whole gimmick of me having shootouts with my camera gets lost for non-spanish😉
      Funny I though because everything is still translated over here and they literally switched it to the good, the ugly and the bad, just cuz they thought it sounded better in Spanish. Greetings, Ron.

  4. Lovely shadow in the bottom right, makes me wonder what’s around the corner. Detail comes over a bit harsh on my monitor. Greetings!

    • Gracias, Base! Harsh detail is what I see and like, but I see more harsh light coming throught the roof making darker parts and sharp textures detail in the lighter parts where I focused. I do all my sharpening and noise reduction (almost never), white temperature, contrast afterwards working with RAW, so mostly everything apart from light/ focus/ aperture/ diafragma. All these things normally are done by your in-camera chip (if shooting JPEG) and I trust my eyes and brain a little more than that fellow😉
      Hasta luego, amigo y Buenos tardes!

    • Thanks so much for that, glad you enjoyed it, hope to keep the quality up around here since not going for one shot a day, makes it impossible to keep up😉
      Greetings, Ron

    • Thanks, Louis, was very happy to find it all still to be explored when I visited, inside and out (will post outside photo mañana😉
      Greetings, Ron.

Leave a Reply

