Flowers Must Die part II

Flowers Must Die II

(1/125, F6.3, ISO200, 35mm)

A follow-up to my first dying flowers photo.

This time I took my SLR with me on my daily walk and from the beginning I was intrigued by this country not having any seasons (not counting the current rainy season, which is hardly noticeable on this side of the Malaysian peninsula), so the whole year round the flowers are blooming and dying at the same time…

As an aficionado of decay and nature it was only a matter of time before this became a series!

32 thoughts on “Flowers Must Die part II

    • Hello Shabnam, hope everything is great with you?
      Thanks so much for your enhousiastic comment, makes me go out there and find more dying flowers😉
      Actually that´s what I´m gonna do now and maybe some more…
      Have a great week, Ron

      • Hi Ron, was out unplugged for more than a month and then ill, my apologies for such a late response, dying flowers or not am looking at your posts admiringly cheers and thanks for dropping by🙂

        • Hi Shabnam, unplugged is always great, but hope the illness is totally gone now?
          I dissed the dying flowers for now and try some other stuff😉
          Thanks so much for enjoying my photos, stay well and all the best from KL,
          Ron

            • Oh, i love to respond, my friend, just not only give a thank you, so then it does take much more time, but I´m very flattered by all of em! And I just read your gripping story, in fact i kept your post open to reread and give a proper response, cuz it is way more intense than just a photopost like mine…

    • Grazie mil, Guisseppe, very flattering to hear!
      Love the Frangipani as well, apart from there colors and texture they also smell great!
      Have a good week, Ron.

  1. an intriguing idea, followed by a beautiful and unique image. for my part i like the morphing of a vase of fresh flowers, slowly drying out and becoming so sculptural! sirpa

    • Hi Sirpa, first of all sorry for being so late in responding, but I appreciate you taking time out to comment here, thanks for that!
      totally agree on the beauty in the decaying flowers, very fascinating to follow that process; here I also thought it was rather cruel for it to end up on this piece of concrete where it couldnt give back its last bit of energy to the soil, but it does make for a nice background texture😉
      Hope all is well, greetings from Kuala Lumpur
      Ron

  2. I keep cut flowers forever and note, as you have shown, they are as beautiful in death as they were in life. This hard rock bed you find it on makes it even more compelling. And I admire your sense of poignancy with decay, it’s very touching like the buildingins you photograph to imagine the histories of something no longer brand new.
    One of your commentors above, Syncopated Eyeball, identified this as
    Frangiapani, a spectacular tree I have wanted in my garden for decades. Indeed the
    fragrance is used in perfumes and soaps and to die for.

    • Hi Barbara, i think the way they slowly decay is beautiful as well, tried to pick up some of these flowers and keep them in a bowl but the decaying process goes very fast in this hot and humid climate, but for a couple of days the smell is still very nice!
      We bought a frangipani for our balcony, but it´s not giving flowers yet, but will treat it nicely and hopefully we´ll be rewarded!
      Thank you for your support always, hope you´re having a gret weekend.
      Warm greetings from Malaysia, Ron.

  3. I am also an aficionada of dead and dying nature. Up to now I thought it was a strange quirk of mine. Your photo is beautiful.
    I now have a bouquet of once lovely white tulips going thru the various stages of decay as they dry on the floor. I think that flowers
    can die into beauty, they carry it for a long time. It is their domain in life and in death..

    • Hi Vera, first of all, sorry for such a late respinse, trying to improve there as well😉
      Thats so beautifully said and my inspiration came from flowers being pretty in their slow fade-out as well and then ending their quest with giving their last breath back to the earth for new ones to bloom, like you said pretty in life and death and the cycle of it!
      hope ll is great, thanks so much for your kind words!
      Greetings, Ron

    • Thank you, Lisa, totally descirbes my fascination visually: the simple composition and complex beauty of the flower and textures!
      My creative philisophy was more about the flower not being able to give its energy in dying back to the ground, cuz of human intervention i.e. the asphalt.
      Thanks for your keen eye and compliment, hope all is great, greetz, Ron.

    • Hello Melinda, thank you and i guess we both could be labeled aficionados of decay😉
      so funny that word is used in Dutch and ofcourse is Spanish, nice coincidence for me!
      Have a great weekend, Ron.

    • Hi Sreejith, what does it stand for? It must be something positive with its beauty and nice smell?
      Its everywhere here too and saw it at different religious temples too.
      Greetings, Ron.

      • Here in my home place Kerala, we use it during one festival time which falls in March every year.

        This flower is the favorite of “the god of love”, “Kama”🙂 according to Hindu mythology.

      • Oh, I’m surprised. People often gather up the fallen flowers here and put them in a little bowl of water and they still smell gorgeous. I’m thinking the trees must be more profuse where you are. I’ve also seen a lei made from them once, so pretty.

Leave a Reply

