The End of Symmetry

End of Symmetry

A little departure from all the flowers dying out here in Malaysia (more to come) to the buildings decaying around Spain. This one is taken outside the town of Colmenar del Arroyo, 50 km west of Madrid.

This relatively new building, maybe 30 years old, had a really interesting layout and this hallway ended with a window.
At first sight it looked to me like a set of eyes and a mouth peeking in (the handle resembling the mouth?!), but luckily I was alone or maybe…

(1/40, F2.0, ISO800, 19mm)

90 thoughts on “The End of Symmetry

    • Dank je wel, Marylou!
      Spanje was een ongelooflijke ontdekkingstocht, erg goeie herinneringen en fotos aan over gehouden😉
      Hartelijke groet, Ron.

    • Thank you very much, Janina! What´s life without fantasy and humour?
      But I´m glad you like the photo as well😉
      All the best to you!
      Greetings, Ron.

    • Thank you very much, Cheryl! Evn though it was daylight walking arund in a place you dont know and werent supposed to be, but still better than after dark😉
      Hope all is well, greetings, Ron.

    • Thank you, Denise! The softness of hte light ont he walls were the second thing I saw after reassuring myself those were not eyes😉
      All the best to you, greetings, Ron.

    • Thnks very much, Jane! Great to hear you noticed the cobwebs which I thought was a nice extra!
      I did set my camera to catch as much of the glowing lights on the walls as my shaky hands could handle😉
      Hope all is great, greetings, Ron.

  1. What a great shot.
    Just my kind of simplicity.
    (I really must do some more of this kind of image – it really speaks to me with it’s stillness).

    • Thanks, Vicki, i guess the simplicity combined with the complexity of light makes the light stand out; at least that was my idea with this one.
      Thats why i titles it the end as the light is far from symmetric😉
      Looking forward to your approach, greetings, Ron.

    • Thank you, Otto! That´s one of the things that you can always count on in Spain, the sunlight transforming spaces interior and exterior; makes life a little easier for a photographer…
      All the best and thanks for the visit, greetings, Ron.

  2. You do great work!!! I’m very glad I found you, or maybe it was you who found me. But, it makes no difference. I get to take a pleasure bath in the results of your creativity. Thanks. I appreciate your efforts!!!

  3. All I can think of when I see this is “warmth”. Yes, I see decay, spider webs, and dirt, but the colors and light … lovely!!

    • Thanks a lot, Robert!
      The light in Spain has always been a photographers dream, especially when shooting interiors and light comes in, hardly a day without sunrays😉
      Greetings, Ron.

    • Thank you so much, Meg, your enthousiasm and thorough look at my photos is very flattering! It is definitely light at the end of this hallway, but it was also a dead end and those eyes looked scary at first sight but friendly later…
      The End Is the Beginning Is the End

      All the best ot you, greetings, Ron.

    • Gracias, Rufus.
      Glad you enjoyed it, very special place to see and shoot with the as always outstanding Spanish light!
      Warm greetings from KL, Ron.

    • Oh no, there is such a huge archive waiting for me to be explored, but also new horizons😉
      Thanks so much for your support, Margaret, hope all is great, greetings, Ron.

    • Hola, Alexandra, thanks for looking at my photo with such detail, to be honest I noticed them when I composed the shot, but now I see it, it feels deserving of a photo itself, but at least its part of one!
      Have a great day, greetings, Ron.

  4. The wonderful things you find, that catch your eye. I see the little
    face too, it’s looking with surprise that you found it and it begins
    to speak.
    And how did this come to be glowing in its dark recess? There’s
    a lot of that in your photographs, some spot of light from nowhere
    that radiates just right around it.
    No, probably not alone, probably some angels
    hovering over your shoulders.

    • Oh, wow, thanks, Barbara, I wish I had your way with words to put with my photos, but then again I would never be so complimentary about myself🙂
      That light is something that first attracts and fascinates me when I walk into these houses of decay; there´s a crack in everything, thats where the light comes in…
      Also the light in Spain indoors and outdoors is something else and feels like a dream I had looking back, wish I could have done much much more with it😉
      Thanks again, such a pleasure to read your thoughtful words every time.
      Ron

    • Thanks, Melinda! These golden rays were very useful when I was photographing in Spain.
      Always flattered when you appreciate colors😉
      Have a great day, Ron.

    • Dank je, Harrie, als ik iets mis aan Spanje is het wel het licht en zulke plekken; niet alleen als fotograaf een geweldige bron van inspiratie maar ook het gevoel van tijdloosheid all around Spain!
      Groet en goeie week, Ron.

    • Hi Jasmine, ´m happy I at least put ´relativley´ before it😉
      I was comparing it to most abandoned villages that I know around Spain that were abandoned in the 60´s when Franco forced them out move to the bigger cities, but I shouldnt be so inconsiderate with phrases like that…
      Thanks for stopping by, greetz, Ron.

    • Gracias, Seonaid,as far as I know there´s no repair going on!
      Nice you saw the face too, first wanted to crop that one, but leaving the light and texture of the rest out was impossible😉
      Have a great day, Ron.

    • Thanks, Sue! This one was a little harder to ´find´as it was in a fenced in abandoned house and lots of hallways and rooms to come upon this🙂
      Have a great day, greetings, Ron.

    • THank you, Noeline, I´ve yet too find the same light and scenes here; a photographers heaven it was for me, if I look back now!
      All hte best, Ron.

Leave a Reply

