The Curse of Pippi Longstocking

The Curse of Pippi Longstocking

 (1/60, F6.3, ISO800, 10mm)

Another of my favorite places to visit in Spain is the enforested
anti-tuberculosis sanatorium Agramonte on mountain Moncayo.

This hospital was built in the 1920´s and after serving for almost 50 years it was abandoned in 1978.
Nowadays it´s a haven for people that believe there are paranormal things going on here.

I guess this is a leftover of some sort of séance in the church that is on the same ground.

85 thoughts on “The Curse of Pippi Longstocking

  1. A curse of Pippi Longstocking can only be a good one! I grew up with the Pippi films and stories (and my daughter did, too). Strange mix to see her face in that place, very confusing, but that is what makes this photo absolutely amazing!

    • Thank you, Simon, went there a couple of times, the surrounding mountainside with its beautfiul forests and streams was a great place to wander around as well with views over the northern plains of Spain and its Pyrenees in the far distance…
      Have a great week, Ron.

    • Thank you so much, Lianne, thats very flattering to be reblogged!
      Guess its not really something people look for while travelling, but I did when I lived there, always looking for these abandoned places with a dark history, although this was at first a place to make people with tuberculosis feel better…
      Greetings from Malaysia, Ron.

    • Funny to here it in original language, only remember Dutch version, but what a sad message at the beginning of the video, the poster having died at 15!
      Thanks for stopping by, Cardinal
      Greetz, Ron.

  2. Very nice capture of the space – love the Pippi in the background too. In all my abandoned travels I have yet to encounter any spirit – other than the left over bottles of alcohol🙂

    • Haha, yep, havent found one as well, but I must say I was a bit unnerved walking thru these hallways and having every little sound – like my lenses rambling in my bag- reflecting of the walls😉
      But apart from that I wasnt ´fortunate´ to encounter one as well…
      Greetings, Ron.

    • Thanks a lot, Cynthia, always difficult to make up titles that add a little, nice to hear you appreciated it🙂
      All the best from KL, Ron.

    • Hi Paula, one of my favorites too when growing up, still funny to see! Actually there where more of these graffitie-stamps around these buildings – nice touch i thought😉
      Thanks so much for the compliment, always great to see you here…
      Have a great day, Ron.

    • Thanks very much, Dilip! It is a very magical place to be; glad you like the information I added too, sometimes I want to let the photo do the talking, but here I thought it maybe needed a little help🙂
      Have a great week, Ron.

      • Hi Allan, thanks for your interest and the compliment!
        Actually in the back there´s this graffiti-figure from an old tv-series called Pippi Longstocking and in the front the worshipping cross, that´s how I fantasized the title😉
        Greetings, Ron.

    • Hi Noeline, guess those ´worshippers´ are mostly interested in things they think go on there at night, but don´t think theres more presences than Pippi and some forst creatures😉
      Have a good week and thanks for support always
      Ron

  3. wow! We have a former Psychiatric Hospital here that is also a favorite spot for paranormal lovers (not sure about paranormal activity)

    • Hello Stevie, definitely felt like it with all this evidence of ghosthunters around😉
      And the spooky sounds of nature taken back over added to the atmosphere!
      Thanks for enjoying, greetings, Ron.

  4. Yes… very eerie!
    I see Pippi (Pippi Långstrump in swedish)

    This image goes right through… and I see this huge face with two bright eyes.

    Enjoy your day, Ron.🙂

    • Hi Malin, I noticed the face as well after posting, it´s Pippi Langkous in Dutch😉
      Hope you´re having a great day too, thanks, Ron.

    • Hello Richard, after I posted it and saw it from a distance it does look like some helmet shape with white eyes😉
      Thanks and have a great week, Ron.

    • Thanks very much, definitely spooky but beautiful place in the woods and I was very happy with Pippi´s presence as well😉
      Have a good week, Ron.

    • Hi Leya, it is a very special place to be, nature and its sounds are taken over the whole bunch of buildings, eerie beautiful!
      No clue were Pippi came in, she was in more spots, guess there was some adventures to be had there😉
      Greetings and thanks for stopping by, Ron.

  5. Eerie, yes. Haunting, yes. Cursed by Pippi Longstocking? Never! If anything healed the folks who were there, it would have been the indomitable spirit of Pippi.

    • Hi Judith, you are so right about Pippi and her spirit; i thought this haunting scene needed a little down-to-earthiness😉
      Thanks for stopping by and hope youre having a great weekend,
      Ron.

  6. Thanks of visiting my blog. When I saw this picture I remember my stay in Sweden where I visited all the places of Astrid Lindgren, author of Pippi Longstocking. She accompanied me through my childhood. I enjoyed very much to see this picture now here on your blog and the surrounding in which you took it.
    Have a nice week!
    Sabine

    • Hello Sabine, so nice of you to stop by and glad it brought back such great memories for you; Pippi was also a big part of my upbringing and probably among the first tv-shows i watched. It´s still great to see that children nowadays still enjoy it!
      Thanks for stopping by and enjoying this picture, hope everything is great,
      Greetings, from Malaysia, Ron.

  7. You caught the atmosphere in this mono presentation and the graffiti tells its own story too

    • Thanks very much, Mitch, that atmosphere was something to catch😉
      I was happy Pippi was with me there…
      Have a good weekend, Ron.

  8. You got in just the right position to take that all in and it’s spectacular. My immediate thought was how much I wanted to be there, what a room. The floor pattern alone seems healing. Whatever in you that leads you to these remarkable hidden delights I hope it never ends.

    • Hello Barbara, it´s always really hard to imagine how this place must have looked before they left it to decay; that floor looks very interesting indeed!
      Thanks for following me on my explorations always, I did go down on my knees here to get the whole circle in my allready wide frame😉
      Hope you´re having a great weekend, Ron.

    • Thanks a lot, Patti! I went there lots of times just to enjoy the sounds of nature and the beauty in the decay of this building and it was on the slopes of a mountain. which area was also beautiful to explore!
      Have a great weekend, Ron.

Leave a Reply

