Everybody´s Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey

IMG_4439 1024 cinco

(1/250, F6.3, ISO400, 235mm)

 Just back from an incredible trip to Malaysian Borneo with some photos that are out of my comfort zone. One of those subjects being wildlife, but when these proboscis monkeys decided to have a meeting in front of my veranda in Bako National Park it was an opportunity not to be missed!

Normally pretty hard to find 4 long-nosed males came swinging down the trees and sat down just metres away from us.

By coincidence (or not) they are also known as Orang Belanda (`Dutch human`, like me) because of the same big nose and swollen belly as the first Dutch colonisers that arrived here.

(more on Borneo soon…)

41 thoughts on “Everybody´s Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey

  1. Thanks for stopping by my place. I haven’t seen you around much. So glad you did so I could come and see this guy. He actually looks a little like a blind date I once had! What did Cyrano say, “A great nose may be an index of a great soul.”

  2. That’s an interesting specimen! I did not know you were Dutch. Why do you feel outside your comfort zone while taking photos of wildlife? They are the most fascinating subjects to me. Thank you, Ron for showing me the species I wasn’t familiar with and for taking such a successful portrait.

    • Isn´t it? I thought it was funny they were named after my fellow countrymen, not a great heritage, but funny😉
      For being outside my comfort zone it´s because with animals you just have to wait and see what they do and I know i can never match the shots professional wildlife photographers make so mostly i dont see the use and just enjoy the encounters, but when this relatively rare and hard to see monkeys came so close i decided to try a shot after a while!
      Thank you very much for the compliment, Paula, great to hear, hope you have a great holiday!
      Enjoy, Ron

    • It was very much, being so close to these monkeys in the wild and them feeling so unthreatened felt really good!
      Thanks for your comment, Donna, all the best to you,
      Ron

Leave a Reply

