Down in a Hole

Down in a Hole 1024 III

(1/30, F4.5, ISO400, 20mm)

  In the Spanish Pyrenees there are a lot of villages that were abandoned to make way for reservoirs that would fill up the valleys with water. Between 1926 and 1929 the ´Embalse de Joaquin Costa´or Lake Barasona near Graus was constructed and therefor the village of Cancér had to be abandoned.

Nowadays Cancér, being surrounded by the lake, is very difficult to reach and some of it is underneath the water surface most of the time. What remains above water is overgrown by vegetation and destroyed through time, but still contains some old houses and even a 12th century Roman church.

This photo was taken there from within a well hidden old wine cellar that a local friend showed me.

84 thoughts on “Down in a Hole

    • Hi Allan, well actually I went in here to have a drink with a good friend (& some others that didnt dare to go in), but luckily I hardly go anywhere without carrying my photobag😉
      Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend,
      Ron

    • Hello Randall, thanks very much for taking a look and so agree on the amazing history in all its detail that Spain provides, unbelievable source of photos and stories to me!
      Hope all is well, amigo😉
      Ron

      • Traveling a bit too much these days (work, zero photography), and WP is banned in China ~ so get to catch up on photo/posts when back in HK. Cheers!

          • Ha, yes it is strange. This past trip Google was blocked…very strange, not quite sure why they choose to block some sites. I use to read the NYTimes, but that site had long been banned since they wrote a story about one of the leaders. I had to unsubscribe to their site because it became useless out here🙂

    • Oh, it looks way more creepy than it was, there was a small window on the other end overlooking a lake and the mountains😉
      I love to be in places with so much history, unfortunately this one´s pretty far away from where I am now!
      All the best to you, greetings, Ron.

    • Danke schön, Ulf! When I looked back at where I entered the cellar and saw this with the textured rocks and stream of light I knew I had to make a photo before I opened my bottle of wine😉
      Gruss, Ron.

  1. such amazing color and light that you’ve captured. So beautiful!
    And I’m so glad you always share the story, sad though it is

    • Hi Laurie, thank you so much for the compliment, it was an amazing place and memory!
      I always hope the photo tells a bit of the story but when there´s more to it, I try to tell in as little words as possible😉
      Hope all is well, greetz, Ron.

    • Hi Cybele, thanks very much! I wanted the mystery in the shades and the magic in the light, nice to hear you like it!
      Have a great weekend, Ron.

    • Hola Emilio, i actually did, thanks for noticing and enjoying this one!
      Most of the time I´m too lazy or don´t carry my tripod, but I was laying on the ground here sipping on my wine😉
      Bien finde, Ron.

  2. I love the light in your first photo here, Ron. It reminds me, in a way, of the conditions in some of the slot canyons in our southwest. Beautiful exposure! -Gary

    • Hello Gary, it was some time ago that I visited some slot canyons in the Southwest and that was beautiful, although it was midday and the light that comes in there was very harsh compared to the sunrays I experience in Spain, but I can see what you mean😉
      You have a great weekend and thanks very much for your compliment, much appreciated,
      Ron

    • Hi Meg, thanks very much for your enthousiasm! It was a memorable experience to spent some time there, the further back in time it gets, these memories seem to become more precious….
      Have a great weekend, Ron.

    • Dank je, Wilma! Er zijn zelfs een paar dorpen in een vallei waarbij de mensen hardhandig uit hun huizen gezet werden en uiteindelijk is de vallei nooit als stuwmeer gebruikt😦
      Altijd een plezier om jouw fotos groot op je blog te kijken ipv alleen in de reader!
      Groet, Ron.

    • Thanks very much, Lisa, so glad the magic of this place and some of the feeling i had being there came across!
      thank you for your support always, all the best, Ron.

    • Thank you, its an old underground wine cellar next to the church there!
      This been a couple of years back, but I did see and find some amazing places around Spain, this one was with help of a local friend😉
      Have a great week, Ron.

    • You are very welcome, Amelie! Most old houses in Spain had their own wine cellars and caves like these are actually pretty common!
      Thanks for stopping by and your enthousiasm,
      Ron

    • Thank you, Maria! The magic of these Spanish places is still there, although the stories of em become older and older…
      Glad I made my own memory (and photo to remind me😉
      Greetings, Ron.

    • Hi Noelle, thanks for your interest, much appreciated!
      These places hold so many stories; its also a shot that helps my memory of that afternoon…
      Have a great week, Ron.

    • Thanks very much, David, I guess going down that slide was worth the effort😉
      Actually it was more about being in there and having a wine with a friend, but luckily I never go anywhere without my camera!
      Cheers, Ron.

    • Thanks a lot, Patti, the whole area still holds so many secrets even after lots and lots of exploration, but a little inside knowledge helped me here😉
      Warm greetings from KL, Ron.

  3. What magical, mystical places you find, and thrilling histories, you can’t go home again surely applies here in this sad hidden place.
    Always your lighting, like the old masters.

    • This was indeed a very magical find thanks to an old friend that lives in the area and knows some amazing hidden secrets around that area.
      Thanks for the great compliment, you know how much I admire the lighting in old art😉
      Have a great week, Ron.

Leave a Reply

